Sand Mountain, Part One.

Most of Nevada is desert so it is not that unusual to come across vast areas of sand. Most people just consider Sand Mountain to just be a huge pile of sand that is unique in the way that it is relatively rare because of its size.   I decided to make this a two part blog because I think it is just that important. This is part one of a two part blog.

I have been going to Sand Mountain for over 20 years. Year after year, I gain more application for it than the last. Sand Mountain has always been a place where I go to have fun with friends and family. In my earliest years it was a place to go sledding…year around. Since it is literately, a mountain of sand, you can climb to the top and sled down with no snow required. Of course, snow only enhanced the experience because it allowed for faster speeds.

Since I have grown older and wiser I have begun to develop a new application for Sand Mountain. The unique beauty it offers is one of the true gems Nevada has to offer. My favorite time of day is just before sundown because the low level sun light adds contrast and shows off the curvature the sand provides.  Sand Mountain is truly one of the best places to watch a Nevada sunset.

In part two, I will share some of my favorite Sand Mountain spots. Please let me know what you think so far by leaving a comment. 

Leave a comment