The Fernley Golf Course!

Today I want to share with you my latest golfing experience. My brother convinced me I needed to play the Fernley golf course; so today I did. Even though it was supposed to rain and be windy in the Northern Nevada desert, we hit the links anyway to celebrate the Easter holiday. The green fees, including a shared cart, were very reasonable at only $25.

Normally, on Easter Sunday golf courses are very crowed but the weather kept the “fair weather” golfers away today. We were the last ones to hit the golf course at 11 am because the weather looked so bad; it was supposed to rain and thunder in the afternoon. The guy in the clubhouse tried to talk us out of playing because the weather conditions were going to be so poor.  As it turned out, the wind died and the clouds parted to allow us to have a great day out on the course.

Image

The golf course conditions were surprising good given the time of year; in fact, they were better than all the popular courses I have played in Reno thus far. The greens were very green and up kept, while the fairways were also green, lush, and well-trimmed. My only complaint would be that the “ponds” were not filled as the “Newlands Project” canal was not filled, which is the major source of water for the golf course. However, I imagine it is still too early in the year to expect the course to be in perfect shape.

If you are a golfer and haven’t played the Fernley course yet, you must give it a try. The course is very well kept up and the price is very reasonable. If you have played or want to play please leave a comment below! Please follow me on twitter @Travis.tbc. 

Leave a comment